Texas Stars Center Travis Morin Wins AHL Scoring Title

Apr 20, 2014

CEDAR PARK, Texas – The Texas Stars, proud American Hockey League affiliate of the Dallas Stars, announced today that center Travis Morin has won the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the leading scorer in the AHL.
Morin, who was voted the winner of the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL’s most valuable player this season, led the league in scoring wire-to-wire after notching four points for Texas on opening night. He finished with 88 points (32 goals, 56 assists) in 66 games played for the Stars, doubling his 44-point output from a year ago and helping Texas to the best record in the AHL. The CCM/AHL Player of the Month in both October and January, Morin began the season on a 10-game scoring streak and went without a point in consecutive games on just four occasions all year.

A 30-year-old native of Brooklyn Park, Minn., Morin also appeared in four games with the Dallas Stars this season, picking up an assist for his first career NHL point. In 350 career AHL games with Texas and Hershey, Morin has totaled 99 goals and 197 assists for 296 points.

The AHL’s leading-scorer trophy was originally named after Wally Kilrea, who held the AHL’s single-season scoring record when the award was instituted in 1947-48. That year, Carl Liscombe broke Kilrea’s record, and the award was renamed in his honor. In 1955, the AHL Board of Governors voted to name the trophy after John B. Sollenberger, a long-time contributor to the league as manager and president of the Hershey Bears and former Chairman of the AHL Board of Governors. Previous winners of the John B. Sollenberger Trophy include Fred Glover (1957, ’60), Willie Marshall (1958), Bill Sweeney (1961, ’62, ’63), Don Blackburn (1972), Paul Gardner (1985, ’86), Bruce Boudreau (1988), Peter White (1995, ’97, ’98), Derek Armstrong (2001), Jason Spezza (2005), Darren Haydar (2007), Alexandre Giroux (2009), Keith Aucoin (2010), Corey Locke (2011), Chris Bourque (2012) and Brandon Pirri (2013). 
The Stars will begin the 2013-2014 Calder Cup Playoffs as they face the Oklahoma City Barons for Game 1 of the Western Conference Quarterfinals on Wednesday, April 23rd for a 7:00 p.m. face off at Cox Convention Center. The Stars will return to Cedar Park Center for Game 3 on Wednesday, April 30th for a 7:30 p.m. puck drop. Texas Stars’ 2014 Calder Cup playoff ticket packages are on sale now! Reserve your seats for all Calder Cup playoff games at Cedar Park Center at a discounted rate. For more information on Texas Stars season tickets call (512) GO-STARS (467-8277) or visit

Back to All