Stars’ Season Ends in 3-2 Overtime Heartbreaker

Apr 29, 2015

ROCKFORD, Ill. -- Stephen Johns' wrap-around goal 23 seconds into overtime put an end to the Texas Stars postseason run as the defending Calder Cup Champions fell to the Rockford IceHogs 3-2 in the game, and 3-0 in their best-of-five series matchup in the Western Conference Quarterfinals.

Johns slipped the game-winner past a sprawled out Jussi Rynnas inside the left post for his first of the playoffs.  Rynnas dueled with Rockford's Michael Leighton all night, as both goaltenders faced 41 shots in the contest.  Rynnas finished with 38 saves in the loss.  Leighton stopped 39.

The IceHogs forced overtime when Phillip Danault scored an awkward goal that chipped over the shoulder of Rynnas at 9:51 of the third off a loose puck in front that the Rockford forward swung at blindly.  Danault finished with two goals in the win for the IceHogs.

Texas carried a 2-1 lead into the third after Scott Glennie buried a rebound goal with just over a minute remaining in the second from Brett Ritchie's shot.  Danault opened up the game's scoring 3:43 into the first to give the Hogs a 1-0 lead.  Devin Shore knotted things in the final minute of the first, snapping a wrist shot from the right circle past Leighton.

The loss closes out the Stars sixth season in the American Hockey League, and the first for head coach Derek Laxdal -- who made his debut behind the bench this season.  The team finished with a 40-22-13-1 record in the regular season, and qualified for the Calder Cup Playoffs for the fifth time in their six-year history.

Texas finished 0-for-2 on the power play.  Rockford went 0-for-3.

Photo Credit:  Todd Reicher/Rockford IceHogs

Three Stars:
1.  Stephen Johns (RFD)
2.  Phillip Danault (RFD)
3.  Michael Leighton (RFD)
Stars - 41
IceHogs - 41
W - Rynnas
L - Leighton
Back to All