IceHogs End Stars’ Win Streak in 4-3 Final

Mar 22, 2015

ROCKFORD, Ill. -- It was a photo finish at the end, but the Texas Stars saw their season-high six-game winning streak come to an end on Sunday evening in a 4-3 loss to the Rockford IceHogs at BMO Harris Bank Center in front of 5,571 in attendance to close out the season series between both clubs.

Brandon Troock scored at 3:32 of the third period to pull Texas (31-19-13-1) within one.  The Stars opted for the extra attacker in the final minute of regulation, but could not score the equalizer past Rockford’s Michael Leighton, who finished with 28 saves in the win for the IceHogs (37-19-5-2).

Texas closes out their four-game road trip on Tuesday against the Iowa Wild at 7 p.m.

It was an offensive first period as both teams combined for five goals, beginning with Texas scoring a pair just over a minute apart.  Justin Dowling tapped home a crossing feed from Brendan Ranford at 7:07 for his 17th of the season and Greg Rallo snapped home his team-leading 22nd of the year from the slot at 8:11 off an assist by Jamie Oleksiak.

After that, Rockford responded with three unanswered to close out the opening frame.  Brandon Mashinter put the Hogs on the board at 9:27 on the power play.  Dennis Rasmussen knotted the game at 12:05, and Mark McNeill made it a 3-2 lead for the Hogs with two minutes remaining.

In the second, Rockford took control on a 5-on-3 power play with an easy tap-in goal for Spencer Abbott at 10:16 to make it a 4-2 lead and that was all the offense the Hogs would need.

Jack Campbell saw his personal four-game win streak come to a close despite a 33-save effort in net for Texas.

The Stars finished the game 0-for-4 on the power play while Rockford went 2-for-7.  It was the first time in three contests the Stars failed to score a power play goal.

Despite the loss, Texas maintains their hold on sixth place in the AHL’s Western Conference by three points over the Milwaukee Admirals.

Photo Credit:  Rockford IceHogs

Three Stars:
1.  Dennis Rasmussen (RFD)
2.  Spencer Abbott (RFD)
3.  Ville Pokka (RFD)
Stars - 31
IceHogs - 37
W - Leighton
L - Campbell
Back to All